The Collected Works of John Millington Synge in 4 Volumes: John Millington Synge (ed R. Skelton & A. Saddlemeyer)

Complete in four volumes. Volume I: Poems; Volume II, Prose; Volume III: Plays Book I; Volume IV: Plays Book II

Beautiful set from Oxford University Press,




Title: The Collected Works of John Millington Synge…

Publisher: Published by Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1962

Publication Date: 1962

Binding: Hardcover

Condition: As New

Edition: 1st Edition Complete four-volume set hardback with dust jackets now protected in removable covers. A really fine set of the works of Synge edited by Robin Skelton, Alan Price and Ann Saddlemeyer, matching and in fine condition. These are rich books. Their editing is sensitive and skilful, and gives us from Synge’s manuscripts many telling and notable additiuons and variants which reveal Synge to us more clearly. They are also finely made books, a pleasure to handle, to read and to look at. Strong pen and ink sketches by the young Jack B. Yeats, and photographs by Synge himslf, which have already been published in the Dolmen Autobiography add to the pleasure of reading. Collector’s Item.