Music for Chameleons: New Writings by Truman Capote

Truman Capote has been a leading force in American literature. His nonfiction novel In Cold Blood, and his inventive experiments in narrative reportage, though causing controversy, have had a significant effect on contemporary writing all over the world. Music for Chameleons is a continuation of this effect.




Title: Music for Chameleons: New Writings by Truman…

Publisher: Random House

Publication Date: 1980

Binding: Hardcover

Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: 1st Edition Fine hardcover with dust jacket now protected in removable cover. A collection of stories by Truman Capote — At the centre of “Music for Chameleons” is Handcarved Coffins, a ‘nonfiction novel’ based on the brutal crimes of a real-life murderer. Taking place in a small Midwestern town in America, it offers chilling insights into the mind of a killer and the obsession of the man bringing him to justice. Also in this volume are six short stories and seven ‘conversational portraits’ including a touching one of Marilyn Monroe, the ‘beautiful child’ and a hilarious one of a dope-smoking cleaning lady doing her rounds in New York. This is the fifth printing of the first edition. Lovely copy.